The External link opens in new tab or windowAnglican Church of Canada is made up of approximately 1,700 individual churches or parishes, which are organized into 30 different dioceses, each led by a bishop.

The Most Reverend Archbishop Linda Nicholls, Primate, is our national pastoral leader and works from the General Synod office in Toronto, Ont.   The Most Reverend Nicholls was elected as 14th Primate of the Anglican Church of Canada in July 2019.  The Primate does not hold any responsibility for a particular diocese, but rather as the spiritual head, has a 'pastoral responsibility' for the entire Anglican Church of Canada.

General Synod is also the name for the national meeting of Canadian Anglicans, held every three years.  Between these meetings, the national church is governed by a smaller Council of General Synod that meets twice a year.

The Anglican Church of Canada works and talks with many other churches through ecumenical dialogue or joint programs. We have a unique External link opens in new tab or windowfull-communion relationship with External link opens in new tab or windowthe Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada.